- The CWCP Program is a comprehensive claims management course that was developed by the Chairman's Advisory Council at the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation. The program is designed to reinforce the fundamentals and build upon those fundamentals to ensure that each certified professional has a thorough understanding of Georgia's Workers' Compensation system.
- Topics covered include:
o Historical Background
o Overview of Georgia Law
o Overview of the State Board
o Human Relations in Claims Handling
o Fraud Awareness
o Disability Management
o Financial Recovery
o Litigation and Arbitration
o Forms and Procedures
Please note that the class format has changed. The self study portion of the program has increased and the class has been reduced to one day in class. The final exam is taken after the completion of the class and is done via the internet. (see The Certification and Recertification Procedure)
We get more questions about the adjusters' license than any other question. If you have a question about licensing please read this carefully.
• First of all, the CWCP program is a voluntary program; however, if you successfully complete the program you can photocopy your CWCP certificate and complete a GID 103 (for a copy go the Georgia Insurance Departments website http://www.inscomm.state.ga.us/ABOUT/Forms.aspx )and you will get your workers' compensation adjusters license. Please note that you do not need a sponsor for this license. If you use the CWCP designation to get a license please note that you do not have a CE requirement the year you get your license. Along with the application you must send a check for $65 and it has to be a company check or a certified check or money order (They will not accept a personal check).
• If you do maintain your CWCP designation by attending our recertification class each year, you will receive the 10 hours necessary to maintain your workers' compensation license. If you do not maintain your designation (remember it is voluntary), you will be required to have 15 hours to maintain your workers' compensation license. We will file your CE for you each year upon completion of the program. If you already have your adjuster's license we will file 40 hours CE for you when you complete the Certification class (including the 3 hours ethics requirement).
• Please note if you maintain your CWCP designation your hours are only reduced if you have a work comp adjuster’s license. Participants with a independent adjuster or brokers license still need to have 15 hours. We have a 10 and 15 hour track that you can go through so regardless of your license, you can satisfy your hours requirement in the CWCP recert program.
• Your certification is valid on a calendar year basis. Please note that if you get a license during the year that you still have to renew your license. Licenses all renew on November 1st. It is your responsibility to renew your license. You have to satisfy your CE requirement during the calendar year so if you have a CE class scheduled for after November 1st you should still send in your renewal license application. If you change addresses it is your responsibility to complete a change of address form with the Georgia Insurance Department (for a copy go the Georgia Insurance Departments website http://www.inscomm.state.ga.us/ABOUT/Forms.aspx ). When you apply for your first renewal license be sure to attach a copy of your CWCP certificate. If you file your renewal on-line please reference that you have your CWCP designation. Remember the licensing requirement is 15 hours for adjusters. If you maintain your CWCP designation and have your workers' compensation adjusters license (Property and casualty adjusters still need 15 hours) you hours are reduced to 10.
• If you have your work comp adjusters license and you complete the cwcp recert and you have completed your renewal application and you get a letter saying you are not CE compliant please send them a note along with a copy of your CWCP certificate. If that does not solve the issue contact the Georgia Insurance Department.
The training can be done entirely online. We also have a 1 day class that is held annually in conjunction with the State Board Annual Conference. The Class will take care of the 10 hour requirement. However if have your Independent Adjusters License (thus a 15 hour requirement) and decide to attend class you will have to complete 5 hours online to satisfy your 15 hour requirement.